Start of Something New

Well, it’s that time of year. New Year, new beginnings, The Start of Something New.

It seemed fitting, as I was flipping through some old files on my laptop, to post about my first experience at the Toronto International Film Festival (September 2013)- my first outing as a full-time tourist. I had just moved from Edmonton to Toronto (never having set foot in Toronto, except when passing through the Pearson International airport, which is coincidentally in Mississauga) and decided to start up The Full-Time Tourist blog.  Unfortunately, I gave up on it after about 2 posts, but this is a new platform and a new year, so here’s to The Full-Time Tourist 2.0 and to…

The Start of Something New.

Sometimes, as a writer, I amuse myself with life’s little ironies. Some people argue that it’s a trait of the stereotypical writer. I’m not so sure. Many of life’s little ironies go unmarked. Just as many overt allusions to other literary, cinematographic and artistic works go unnoticed. This may explain my otherwise inexplicable love for Easy A or the indie-folk band Mumford & Sons. (I lied. Emma Stone is a weakness. As are banjoes and fiddles.)

However, this story dates back to a time before Easy A was created and Mumford & Sons was probably just starting to tinker around with chords and began formulating allusions in almost every song.

This was 2006.

It was a simpler time – one where getting ready for school only meant switching from pajamas to the latest Gap Kids shirt and jeans before eating Eggo waffles and running out the door, backpack in tow. School was only a time to fill in the blanks between summer and winter vacations. And the Winter Vacation of 2006 marked a very special occasion for 11-year-old me. It was the one where I met my first love.

Love at any age is messy. There’s jealousy, those achy pains of missing him and in my case, the concept of an “age gap.” (My parents would never approve!) And yet, I still loved him as much as an 11-year-old knew how. I knew this love was true from the moment he sang with Vanessa Hudgens on that karaoke stage on New Year’s Eve. And that trendy hair he had? Zac Efron knew how to melt a girl’s heart!

"This could be the start of something new / It feels so right to be here with you / Oh and now looking in your eyes / I feel in my heart the start of something new."
“This could be the start of something new / It feels so right to be here with you / Oh and now looking in your eyes / I feel in my heart the start of something new.”

Yes, Zac Efron. This was the start of something new.

Something is only new for so long though. It dissipates and is put on the back burner for many years. During those empty years, little reminders bring back memories from that simpler time, but those little reminders also pass. So as I packed my boxes (and one very mini suitcase) for school in the big city of Toronto, it was somewhat of a shock when life’s little ironies reminded me of my Grade 6 self. After all, if your present self is experiencing The Start of Something (everything) New, what are the odds that Zac Efron is standing so close that he could belt it out in song at any moment.

Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.

He did come and stand so close to me though, that if he had started to sing, I wouldn’t have been able to tell if I were dreaming or not. It was probably best he stayed a little less than a foot away from me, my love for him had been on the back burner for a little too long. My Grade 6 self was brought up to the front burner and was bubbling over… But I was too busy freaking out to care.

Zac Efron close-up

Leave a Reply

