Revelstoked: Day 1

12.21.2014

I hadn’t been home for more than 48 hours before my bags were repacked for the family ski trip to Revelstoke, B.C., a ski resort with the longest vertical in North America.

After seven hours of driving and a popping night’s sleep (I was sleeping on a pull-out couch in the living room that enjoyed creaking its springs anytime I moved), it was time to buckle up my ski boots and hit the slopes.

New pow pow pow skis!
New pow pow pow skis!

Armed with no knowledge of the trails, my barely-there leg muscles that were barely exercised in the past few months, 18 centimetres of fresh powder and new powder skis, I was prepared to voluntarily forgo my speed demon ways on the moguls and take the 15-kilometre green run all the way down to the base.That opportunity never came. With a family of ski aficionados and poor visibility at the top of the mountain, I found myself navigating down a blue run while guessing if my next turn would be on ice or a thick patch of powder.

Now, I know what you must be thinking. Deni, why are you so terrified of a blue run when you usually tear up the back country before lunch? Well, dear reader, the fog on the upper portion of the mountain was so dense that I couldn’t tell where the rest of my family was skiing unless they were turning just ahead of me. Even at that point, they were a white-misted outline awkwardly trying to find a powdery patch to turn on.

For this reason, we headed up the Stoke chair a second time with the sole purpose of making our way over to the Ripper chair to ski the less-fogged-over back country.

Although there was less fog on the back side of the mountain, the 130-centimetre base inadequately cover rocks, fallen trees or the bottomless drainage ditches. We were warned to avoid the ditches by a local on our gondola ride up, however in practice it was near impossible. The bottom portion of Denver Dollars was spent with my knees absorbing the sharp decline-incline of the ditches into my chest.

The adjacent trees (Glades of Glory) didn’t have enough snow either, so we made our way back over to the Stoke chair, where we skied a few more runs.

With sore feet, bruised shins (ski socks rubbing against my shins) and no good runs that day, I was a bit disappointed with Revelstoke. Maybe it would only be good for spring skiing when the base was set? I can’t say for sure about spring skiing, but I was willing to give the mountain another chance.

Day 2 to come…

One thought on “Revelstoked: Day 1

Leave a Reply

